Tags

, , , ,

Marge Packman plays Lady Montague and First Watchman in Romeo and Juliet opening this Friday, July 28 at the Laguna Hills Community Center.

marge

What’s challenging about bringing this script to life?
The most challenging thing about this particular production is the language.
Shakespearean English is difficult enough to pronounce, even without the addition of
Spanish!

How is this production bringing something new to this story?
The re-setting of this play to Alta California really adds a unique dimension and
depth as it sets the eternal love story and tragedy against the backdrop of colonial
California, where the Capulet Spanish rancheros are the established old guard, and
the Montague American merchants are the newcomers.

What’s going to surprise people about this show?
Without giving too much away, I think people will be surprised and delighted with
the interaction between the actors and the audience.

Call someone out by name: who must come see this production?
Rather than calling out anyone in particular, I would like to encourage everyone who
has a friend or family member in the cast to come out to see at least one
performance. I can’t stress strongly enough the importance of knowing they have your
support.

How is this character like you? Different?
Like Lady Montague, I have a son who lives some distance away. Thankfully, these
days it’s much easier to keep in touch via phone and email!

As for the First Watchman, whom I also portray, I, too would be horrified at the
tragedy that we discover.

What do you love about this character?
I love that both of my characters are feisty and not afraid to speak their minds.

What do you hate about this character?
I really hate the way that Shakespeare disposes of Lady M offstage.

Without giving anything away, what’s your favorite line of dialogue?
(You have to imagine me saying this one with a Spanish accent.) “A great suspicion!
Stay the friar, too!”

If you could play any other character in this show, who would it be?
I would love to have a crack at playing the nurse (although, I must say, Lanette is
doing a wonderful job). The nurse role calls for a wide range of acting including
both comedy and tragedy.

When did you first perform?
I started out doing a couple of very minor parts in my nephew’s student films, which
are still available on Vimeo. My first stage performance was in last year’s Macbeth.

What do you do when you’re not doing theatre?
During the school year, in addition to working several part-time/substitute jobs, I
coach a middle-school cheer team up in Los Angeles, which entails a lot of driving.
I occasionally write articles for the internet, including for a cheerleading
website. I also love scrapbooking, card-making, cooking, and watching sports and
cooking shows on TV.

If you had a magic wand, what show would you do next?
I think it would be a blast to do “Merry Wives of Windsor”.

What’s the last thing you do before you step out on stage?
I usually try to follow along in my script when I’m backstage, so I usually put down
my script, then take a quick drink of water to help lubricate my vocal cords and a
deep breath before I get into position.

This is Marge Packman’s second year with OTE, after having portrayed several minor
characters in last year’s production of Macbeth. Marge was born in Chicago and
earned a BA in English from Northern Illinois University. For her day jobs, Marge
holds several substitute positions with local schools. In her spare time, she
coaches a middle-school cheer team and spends way too much money on scrapbooking
supplies. Marge would like to thank her husband, Gary, and children, Michelle and
David, for their support.

SHOW INFORMATION:

This summer’s Shakespeare in the Hills production transports the well-loved story of Romeo and Juliet to 1845 and the conflicted world of Alta California. With sword fights, immersive staging, and a blend of comedy and tragedy, this production for all ages is not to be missed!

Bring a blanket or your lawn chair, bring your meal and make it a picnic event for Shakespeare in the Hills’ outdoor performance presented by On The Edge Theatre Productions (www.otetheatre.com). All performances are held at the Laguna Hills Community Center & Sports Complex’s Gazebo and Town Green.

Performances @ 7pm, July 28th & 29th; August 4th & 5th, 11th & 12th. Tickets $10
Age 12 and under free. All participants of age 12 and under must be accompanied by a paying adult. Tickets are sold (cash only) on the day of the show. You may also purchase your ticket early online (class registration). No refunds or transfers for this event. Snacks and refreshments will be available for purchase at this family event.  Call 949-707-2680 for more information.

Facebook Event for Romeo & Juliet

Visit us at www.otetheatre.com

Like us on facebook at www.facebook.com/otetheatre

Follow us on twitter @OnTheEdgeThtr

See our photos at www.instagram.com/ontheedgetheatre

Read our blog at https://ontheedgetheatreproductions.wordpress.com

